Blitzkrieg General II
Most important Changes

  • a clean up and polish including Errata and clarifications on all components.
  • a 2 page Quick start card simplifying the learning of the rules for non-wargamers
  • new more realistic terrain patterns while the map structure remains the same.
  • The ones who like the old BG map as "cool" will experience the new one as a stunner.
  • The box will be with top and bottom, no sleeve.
BG I is a good game and you made a good purchase. If the changes above justify the purchase of BG II for own-ers of BG I is up to you.
UGG will NOT sell single BG II components or update kits.
BG 2 provides nothing that a BG 1 owner really "needs". On the other hand all components have been improved.
3/41: 1 x HQ Yamamoto
Total War Increase your country's production permanently by 3 BP per turn. However, the Troops of the affected country cannot re-treat from a combat but must continue fighting until victory or total elimination.
Prerequisite: Your country must first be at war for at least one year.
Cost: 5
Japanese navy card This card is discarded automatically (and that way becomes obsolete) when the USSR declares war on Japan. The latter is also true, when Japan takes this card after once being attacked by the USSR regardless if this war is still raging.
USSR/JP Peace Both the USSR and Japan are forced to peace. Every turn in the time table phase the card player rolls 2 D 6. If a "12" is rolled the peace ends immediately. Modifiers: Add one to the die roll for each year after 1940.
Prerequisite: Japan and the USSR already were at war when the card is played.
5.2 Place reinforcements
o Areas which have their national flags printed in them are hereafter called home areas.
o Any major country has to place its reinforcements i.e., units in production that appear this turn, in home areas that contain production.
5.5 Japanese Chinese Limits
The number of available land units for Japanese attacks on China and vice versa per turn is limited as follows: Roll a D 6. The number of available land units for each side is the die roll or 3 (whichever is more). This is marked on the JP/CH limits track, Pacific map. Also see 8.7.
There is no limit on naval or air units. HQs do not count against these limits.
Voluntary rules add:
6.0 supply
o The presence of any friendly ship except subs in that seazone cancels the interruption of the supply path by enemy TFs.+
6.1 o An Area works as supply source for one side if it contains production and is in a home country of that side.
Naval rules
6.4.3 F Restrictions for Double Naval Movement
o Ships can double their maximum movement range, provided they never enter an enemy controlled area or an enemy controlled seazone at the beginning, during, or at the end of that movement.
o Furthermore Naval movement with double range is allowed through seazones containing enemy ships if the mov-ing group succeeds in slipping by the enemy ships without being detected.
o If a combat occurs because of a successful search roll, movement is reduced to single range.
o If the single range was already exceeded, a successful search by the enemy leads to an immediate end of the Na-val move and a Naval combat occurs.
o Ships using double range cannot:

1) conduct search rolls for enemy ships.
2) unload land units into an enemy controlled area.
o The Restrictions above are also true if the double range move has been intercepted by enemy ships.
If ships that used double range this turn are present in a seazone, their restrictions do also affect all other friendly ships and supporting aircraft in that seazone.
o Enemy ships in such seazone have the following advantages:
1) They can search for enemy ships, and decide on their own if they wish to involve the enemy in combat.
2 ) They can just stay in the seazone without any combat.
3 ) They can end a combat with enemy ships after each combat round without leaving the seazone.
o Only the non phasing side can use the advantages listed above.
o Retreat from Naval combat after one round of combat is also possible for ships that have exceeded single range.
o The restrictions listed above end, after the action segment of the side using double range ends.
6.5.3 Use of the Battlechart
In case of cumulative effects first count Invasions, then terrain, then weather, and at last supply.
If one or more of the listed modifiers do not occur simply skip them.
Mixtures of the above
If only aircraft fight vs land units only the air units fight in the land segment and the air units air/sea segment and the land units must use A.A. fire. This combat ends after one round.
o If one side committed both land units and aircraft to combat, while the other side uses land units only, the latter side may place excess land units into the air/sea segment. These count as Anti Air (strength1).
If an enemy fleet contains both subs and other ships, the friendly side must decide before rolling which friendly ships fire at the subs (strength 1) and which ones fire at the other enemy ships using their regular naval combat strength.

Vichy France: Germany occupies France except the Vichy area. All French units are removed from the map and from production. "V" and "F" units are separated. The "Vichy" Area and the French colonies become neutral. Vichy and unoccupied colo-nies are occupied by one randomly chosen French unit, the latter are flipped to their backsides thereafter. Units marked "V" are set on the production chart to appear 3 quarters after Vichy is installed. After these units arrive as reinforcements the Italian player places them into Vichy or a Vichy controlled area as he desires. Prerequisite: the Axis controls at least 3 Areas in France.
Restrictions for Vichy France:
Vichy France and its colonies are neutral. The same is true for former unconquered French colonies if France is conquered alternatively.
Any violation of Vichy territory by any side is a declaration of war on a neutral and influences the US production by one.
As a result Vichy cannot stack with other nations Italy is just the player who handles the Vichy forces. There is no Vichy pro-duction. If France is re- conquered by an Allied Major country Vichy and the re-conquered France may exist at the same time. If, in this case, the Vichy area is conquered by the Allies, the re-conquered France re-gains control of the Vichy colonies.
7.3 Collect income
??Each major country now collects its production in BP for the actual Quarter. It is available now for use in phases 7.4- 7.6.
All phases with number 7 thereafter are moved by one number.
7.6.3 If the USSR loses 5 BP effective - count BPs conquered from each other (the numbers in the right rectangles only) and calculate a differential- to Japan the USSR receives its full production (even prior to war with Germany) till a peace with Japan occurs.
8.2 Neutral Countries
o Neutral Countries cannot enter any area controlled by a country at war and vice versa. This is also true for countries they will be associated with later in the game. This restriction is void after the neutral country enters the war.
o This is also true if a major country at war later becomes neutral again with respect to another major country. Any territorial violations occurring because of the former war status are corrected immediately by relocating the respec-tive units to the next friendly area, regardless of a land connection.
Most important rules case:
USSR and Japan have war with each other. Now they become neutral again because one of them played the "peace" card. Japan can no longer be in the area of Axis nations at war with the USSR and vice versa. The USSR can no longer be in the area of Allied nations at war with Japan and vice versa. Any units violating the criteria listed above are relocated immediately.
Optional rules add
9.11 Cooperation Forces of countries that do not cooperate cannot:
o stack in the same area or seazone
o participate in each others attacks
o enter each others country (except enemy controlled areas in that country)
o use each others rail capacity
o If units are forced to retreat into an area or seazone (because no other retreat is possible) the restrictions above maybe temporarily violated. The retreat must be continued until the requirements above are met.
Forces of countries that do cooperate may do all of the above.
Countries that do cooperate:
o Minors with its controlling major country and countries the controlling major country cooperates with.
o Germany and Italy
o BE, USA, and France
o China and USA but not China with BE or France
All other countries do not cooperate with each other.
9.12 Fog of war It is not allowed to inspect enemy stacks except the top unit. An area or seazone may contain an unlimited number of units, but no single stack maybe higher than 10 units. if more than 10 units are in one area/seazone additional stacks must be made.
9.13 Alternate Initiative procedure
The side that wins the initiative in 5.3 may decide which side performs as phasing side first.
9.14 Research
If a research roll fails, the researching major country does not lose all bought numbers, but the difference between the die roll and the bought numbers. Example: You bought 4 numbers and roll a "6". 2 numbers are subtracted. You now have accumulated 2 numbers for future turns.
10.0 Special Rule Cases
10.1 Pinning
Pinning is attacking enemy units to prevent them from interfering in any combat elsewhere and pre-venting them from conducting an invasion. No unit may be used in more than one combat.
The following units can be pinned:
o TF in seazones, to prevent them from giving support to adjacent areas (see 6.4.5).
o Land units stacked with an HQ in the same area. Pinning can prevent them from interfering as Reserves into other land combats (see 6.4.6).
o Ships, that are stacked in the same seazone with a Naval HQ. Pinning can prevent these ships from interfering as Reserves into other Naval - Combat (see 6.4.6).
o Aircraft can be prevented from reacting to enemy Attacks (see 6.4.5).
o Ships of the phasing side wanting to conduct an Invasion. Pinned convoys cannot unload land units into enemy controlled areas (see 6.5.4).
Generally only as many enemy units can be pinned as are used for pinning. If the pinned side has more units in the respective area, surplus units of the owners choice can be used elsewhere.
10.2 Who can pin whom?
o Land units can pin other land units
o Aircraft and TF can pin all units
o Ships can pin other ships
o HQs can be pinned but never can pin other units.
Players who have BG I only, regard the above as official Errata.
[an error occurred while processing this directive]